Contact
cross dimensional manufacturing
Pace Maker
for High-End
Precision
Parts

A custom fit

Tailor-made metal signs of various shapes and sizes

Johann Gg. Schopper GmbH & Co. KG in Zirndorf near the German city of Nuremberg has been manufacturing all manner of metal products and toys since 1928. The medium-sized family company is now in its third generation and its products include metal signs. To make these metal signs even more efficient to manufacture, Schopper GmbH turned to the robotics team at toolcraft. The result was a robot cell capable of automatically machining customised embossing plates that can be used to produce metal signs.

Used technologies:

Customer:

Johann Gg. Schopper GmbH & Co. KG
www.schopperkg.net

The starting point:
A wide range of shapes and sizes

The brief was to construct a robot cell that could produce plates of various shapes and sizes. The completed cell uses a Stäubli TX90 robot and has two vacuum tables for the machining of positive and negative feedstock. The machining time had to be kept under 45 minutes.

The Challenge:
A custom fit

In addition to providing the necessary hardware, toolcraft worked with software company unicam to supply the compatible software. Mastercam was used to program the paths. Meanwhile, the offline programming software Octopuz translated the program for the robot, providing everything needed for the automated processing of the embossing plates. The quality meets the high standards of manual production processes.

the approach:
Working together to achieve success

  • Creation of a project team comprising specialists in design, robotics and electronics
  • Close collaboration between toolcraft and unicam
  • Design stage followed by commissioning and development of the design
  • Creation of the milling programs and in-house construction of the cell
  • Initial milling tests on the cell and acceptance by Schopper GmbH
  • Delivery and start-up at the client's premises

The results:
When tradition meets progress

The project took a total of 20 weeks to complete. During this time, toolcraft provided everything from A to Z – from the hardware to the offline programming. In doing so, toolcraft has equipped the traditional process of manufacturing metal signs for the future.

Media library

Get immediate impressions of our capabilities now!

Automated production of embossing plates

Your Pace makers for high-end Precision Parts

As your research and development partner, we can help you explore new avenues of business and market opportunities. Find out more about cross-dimensional manufacturing, our unique consulting and manufacturing standard Cross-Dimensional Manufacturing!

Challenge us to help you with your projects today!

Send Enquiry

Phone +49 9172 6956-0

Andreas Bauer

Business Unit Manager Robotics

Daniel Distler

Business Unit Manager Robotics

cross dimensional manufacturing
Pacemaker
für High-End-
Präzisions-
Bauteile

Pass(t) genau

Metallschilder verschiedenster Größen und Formen passgenau fertigen

Die Firma Johann Gg. Schopper GmbH & Co. KG in Zirndorf bei Nürnberg produziert seit 1928 Metall- und Spielwaren in allen erdenklichen Arten und Formen. Zum Portfolio des heute in der dritten Generation geführten mittelständischen Familienunternehmen gehört u.a. die Herstellung von Metallschildern. Um ihre Produktion noch effizienter zu gestalten, hat sich die Schopper GmbH an das Robotik-Team von toolcraft gewandt. Und heraus kam eine Roboterzelle, die die automatisierte Bearbeitung von Prägeplatten zur Herstellung von Metallschildern passgenau möglich macht.

EINGESETZTE Technologien:

Kunde:

Johann Gg. Schopper GmbH & Co. KG
www.schopperkg.net

Die Ausgangslage:
Verschiedenste Größen und Formen

Der Auftrag lautete eine Roboterzelle für das Bearbeiten von Platten in verschiedensten Größen und Formen zu bauen. Hierfür wurde ein Roboter von Stäubli, der TX90, gewählt. Zudem verfügt die Zelle über zwei Vakuumtische für die Bearbeitung der Positiv- und Negativ-Rohplatten. Die Bearbeitungsdauer durfte dabei 45 Minuten nicht überschreiten.

Die Herausforderung:
Pass(t) genau

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Softwareunternehmen unicam konnte zur Hard- auch die entsprechende Software geliefert werden. Die Programmierung der Bahnen erfolgte in Mastercam. Zur Übersetzung des Programms für den Roboter kam die Offline-Programmiersoftware Octopuz zum Einsatz. Sie bietet dabei alles, was für die automatisierte Bearbeitung der Prägungen notwendig ist. Und die Qualität entspricht weiterhin den hohen Ansprüchen der manuellen Fertigung.

Die Vorgehensweise:
Hand-in-Hand zum Erfolg

  • Zusammenstellung eines Projektteams aus Konstruktion, Robotik und Elektrik
  • Enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen toolcraft und unicam
  • Konzeptphase mit anschließender Beauftragung und Ausarbeitung der Konstruktion
  • Erstellung der Fräsprogramme und Aufbau der Zelle in-house
  • Erste Fräsversuche auf der Zelle und Abnahme durch die Schopper GmbH
  • Auslieferung und Inbetriebnahme beim Kunden vor Ort

Das Ergebnis:
Wenn Tradition auf Fortschritt trifft

Das Projekt nahm von Anfang bis Ende 20 Wochen in Anspruch. Dabei lieferte toolcraft alles von A bis Z – von der Hardware bis zur Offline-Programmierung. Somit ist die traditionsreiche Fertigung von Metallschildern für die Zukunft gerüstet.

Mediathek

Jetzt unmittelbare Eindrücke von unserem Leistungsvermögen holen! 

Automatisierte Herstellung von Prägeplatten

Ihre Pacemaker für high-end-präzisions-Bauteile

Als Forschungs- und Entwicklungspartner eröffnen wir Ihnen neue Perspektiven und Marktchancen. Lernen Sie unseren branchenweit einzigartigen Beratungs- und Fertigungsstandard Cross Dimensional Manufacturing kennen!

Fordern Sie uns noch heute mit Ihren Projekten heraus! 

Anfragen

Telefon +49 9172 6956-0

Andreas Bauer

Bereichsleiter Robotik

Daniel Distler

Bereichsleiter Robotik