Contact
cross dimensional manufacturing
Pace Maker
for High-End
Precision
Parts

Shot-by-Shot Profitability

Enhanced productivity with laser melted pins

The plants of Adolf Föhl GmbH + Co KG supply several hundred million zinc diecastings and plastic injection mouldings each year. This enormous output indicates the dimension of the increase in productivity which the company way able to achieve thanks to toolcraft's metal laser melting technology.

Used technologies:

Customer:

Adolf Föhl GmbH + Co KG
www.foehl.de

The Starting Point:
Common Sets Among Innovation Drivers

At Föhl, too, the optimisation of machines and moulds has top priority. After toolcraft had delivered convincing solutions with its innovative metal laser melting process within little time, the team was asked to explore and implement the potential of the technology for further improvements of the diecasting and injection moulds.

The Challenge:
High Rigidity, Strength, and Internal Cooling

Next to optimum efficient cooling, the rigidity and strength of contouring mould inserts make an essential contribution to success in diecasting and injection moulding. The big challenge for toolcraft, therefore, was to apply the right innovative power precisely on those levers.

The approach:
Comprehensive Solution from Design to Finished Parts

  • Identifying the critical issues in the mould making process, and determining the optimisation strategy
  • Manufacture of internally cooled pins by means of metal laser melting
  • Heat treatment of the melted shapes
  • Subsequent milling to operational function components
  • Tactile and/or optical quality assurance of the finished components
  • Non-destructive testing

The Results:
Game-Changing Improvements

Shot speeds down from 10 to 8 or even 7 seconds – in other words: Up to 30 percent faster cycles thanks to the use of laser melted pins with internal cooling. A figure that can be called “game-changing” without exaggeration. In addition, the metal laser melting technology also provided for a dramatic reduction of scrap rates, as the optimised cooling efficiency of the pins clearly minimised the warpage of the manufactured parts.

Your Pace makers for high-end Precision Parts

As your research and development partner, we can help you explore new avenues of business and market opportunities. Find out more about cross-dimensional manufacturing, our unique consulting and manufacturing standard Cross-Dimensional Manufacturing!

Challenge us to help you with your projects today!

Send Enquiry

Phone +49 9172 6956-0

Stefan Auernhammer

Business Unit Manager Additive Manufacturing

Uwe Schulmeister

Business Unit Manager Additive Manufacturing

Andreas Kastner

Deputy Business Unit Manager Mould Making

cross dimensional manufacturing
Pacemaker
für High-End-
Präzisions-
Bauteile

Schuss für Schuss ein Gewinn

Mehr Produktivität mit lasergeschmolzenen Fassonstiften

Mehrere hundert Millionen Zinkdruckguss- und Kunststoffspritzgussteile verlassen jährlich die Werke der Adolf Föhl GmbH + Co KG. Dieser gewaltige Output lässt die Dimension der Produktivitätssteigerung erahnen, die das Unternehmen mit Hilfe des Metall-Laserschmelzens von toolcraft realisieren konnte.

EINGESETZTE Technologien:

Kunde:

Adolf Föhl GmbH + Co KG
www.foehl.de

Die Ausgangslage:
Schnittmengen unter Innovationstreibern

Auch bei Föhl steht die Optimierung von Maschinen und Werkzeugen ganz oben auf der Agenda. Nachdem toolcraft mit dem innovativen Metall-Laserschmelzen binnen kurzer Zeit überzeugende Lösungen geliefert hatte, wurde das Team beauftragt, das Potenzial des Verfahrens für weitere Verbesserungen der Druckgussformen und Spritzgießwerkzeuge auszuloten und umzusetzen.

Die Herausforderung:
Hohe Steifigkeit, Festigkeit und Innenkühlung

Neben einer möglichst effizienten Kühlung der konturgebenden Formeinsätze leisten Steifigkeit und Festigkeit der Formstifte im Spritz- und Druckguss einen maßgeblichen Beitrag zum Erfolg. So lag die große Herausforderung für toolcraft darin, genau an diesen Hebeln mit der richtigen Innovationskraft anzusetzen.

Die Vorgehensweise:
Komplettlösung vom Design bis zum Fertigteil

  • Identifikation der neuralgischen Punkte im Formenbauprozess und Festlegung der Optimierungsstrategie
  • Fertigung innengekühlter Fassonstifte mittels Metall-Laserschmelzen
  • Wärmebehandlung
  • Frästechnische Nachbearbeitung der urgeformten Werkstücke zum einsatzfähigen Funktionsbauteil
  • Taktile bzw. optische Qualitätssicherung der erschmolzenen Komponenten
  • Zerstörungsfreie Prüfung

Das Ergebnis:
Bahnbrechende Verbesserung

Von 10 auf 8 oder gar 7 Sekunden Schussgeschwindigkeit. Mit anderen Worten: Bis zu 30 Prozent kürzere Zykluszeiten durch den Einsatz lasergeschmolzener Fassonstifte mit Innenkühlung. Eine Zahl, die ohne Übertreibung als bahnbrechende Verbesserung bezeichnet werden kann. Zusätzlich konnte über das Metall-Laserschmelzen auch die Ausschussquote drastisch reduziert werden, da durch die optimierte Kühlleistung der Verzug der erzeugten Bauteile deutlich minimiert wurde.

Ihre Pacemaker für high-end-präzisions-Bauteile

Als Forschungs- und Entwicklungspartner eröffnen wir Ihnen neue Perspektiven und Marktchancen. Lernen Sie unseren branchenweit einzigartigen Beratungs- und Fertigungsstandard Cross Dimensional Manufacturing kennen!

Fordern Sie uns noch heute mit Ihren Projekten heraus! 

Anfragen

Telefon +49 9172 6956-0

Andreas Kastner

Formenbau

Stefan Auernhammer

Business Unit Manager Additive Manufacturing

Uwe Schulmeister

Business Unit Manager Additive Manufacturing