This website uses cookies for reasons of functionality, convenience, and statistics. If you require further information and/or do not wish to have cookies placed when using the site, visit privacy policy.
Menü
background
This website uses cookies for reasons of functionality, convenience, and statistics. If you require further information and/or do not wish to have cookies placed when using the site, visit privacy policy.

Case Study: RoboBoxster

Automated processing of plastic parts

NIFCO KTW GmbH specialises in the production of plastic components for interior and exterior use. These parts are often finished with state-of-the-art, high-quality coatings and are used on the production lines of many renowned car manufacturers and their suppliers. The company provides “everything from a single source”, from development to final assembly. NIFCO KTW commissioned toolcraft’s robotics team to construct a robot cell to help it develop a new innovative product for car interiors. The aim of this cell is to process high-quality visible interior car parts, with the robot and tool changer forming a single unit. Two rotary tables are positioned at an angle of 180° and give the cell flexibility. A complete casing makes the cell safe to use and rounds-off its design. toolcraft was responsible for creating the full customised solution, from the initial idea to production and assembly.

www.nifcoktw.com

The Starting Point:
Sophisticated parts for the automotive industry

The objective was for the plastic parts, which are produced using 3K injection moulding and reinforced with around 20% fibreglass, to be processed using a robot. The parts are between 200 mm and 1,000 mm in size and the robot must achieve a precision of +/- 0.1 mm. Further requirements taken into account when constructing the robot cell included the integration of tool management and a tool changer as well as two rotary tables capable of processing the parts more quickly. The entire cell had to be designed as a closed system. It is able to accommodate eight different components (RFID) and boasts an integrated chip extraction feature. toolcraft also took care of the offline programming.

The Challenge:
Process reliability and precision

Since the components are visible after installation and gap dimensions need to be accurate to a tenth of a millimetre, the entire process must be reliable and precise. The combination of tool management, measuring systems and component recognition is essential for enabling the requirements to be met consistently throughout the processing procedure. Ensuring a compact yet user-friendly design presented an additional challenge when constructing the cell. Moreover, toolcraft made sure that freeform surfaces can be programmed to make them suitable for processing by the robot. It is also possible to make adjustments and corrections in the event of component warpage. toolcraft’s longstanding experience in manufacturing machinery proved invaluable during this project. The team worked with software company unicam to program the robot. The system was visualized in Visual components and the tools were generated by using the software Octopuz.

The Approach:
Precise down to the smallest detail

  • Creation of a project team and performance of a feasibility analysis
  • Test phase on toolcraft’s own robot cells
  • Full construction and assembly in house
  • Use of a Stäubli RX 160
  • Set up at the client’s premises

The Results:
Complete tailored solution from A to Z

Including the time required to assemble the system at the client’s premises, the solution was up and running within 16 weeks. The robot cell fulfils all the necessary requirements. toolcraft’s expertise in robotics and its close collaboration with the client meant that the bespoke solution left no stone unturned.

You have another challenge for us? Then do not hesitate to contact us, today. Our team is looking forward to new tasks.


Further Case Studies

Robot Cell

Custom-tailored All-round Talent:
Multifunctional Robot Cell for Diverse Customer Needs

View Case Study

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um die Benutzerfreundlichkeit zu optimieren. Informieren Sie sich unter Datenschutz, wie wir Cookies verwenden und wie Sie Ihre Einstellungen ändern können.
Menü
background
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um die Benutzerfreundlichkeit zu optimieren. Informieren Sie sich unter Datenschutz, wie wir Cookies verwenden und wie Sie Ihre Einstellungen ändern können.

Case Study: RoboBoxster

Automatisierte Bearbeitung von Kunststoffteilen

Die NIFCO KTW GmbH ist spezialisiert auf die Herstellung von Interieur- und Exterieur-Kunststoffbauteilen. Diese sind oftmals mit neuesten High-End-Oberflächen veredelt und bei vielen namhaften Automobilherstellern und deren Zulieferern im Serieneinsatz. Das Unternehmen bietet von der Artikelentwicklung bis zur Endmontage „Alles aus einer Hand“. Für ein neues, innovatives Produkt im Bereich Automotive-Interieur haben sie das Robotik-Team von toolcraft beauftragt, eine Roboterzelle zu bauen. Diese soll hochwertige Interieurteile im Sichtbereich von Fahrzeugen bearbeiten. Dabei bilden Roboter und Werkzeugwechsler eine Einheit. Zwei Drehtische, die um 180°Grad versetzt angeordnet sind, verleihen der Zelle Flexibilität. Eine komplette Umhausung gibt ihr dabei die nötige Sicherheit und ihr Design. Von der Idee über die Fertigung bis hin zur Montage ist die Roboterzelle eine Komplettlösung nach Maß.

www.nifcoktw.com

Die Ausgangslage:
Anspruchsvolle Teile für die Automobilindustrie

Die im 3K-Spritzgussverfahren hergestellten und zusätzlich mit rund 20% Glasfaser gefüllten Kunststoffbauteile sollen mittels Roboter bearbeitet werden. Dabei haben sie eine Größe von 200 mm bis 1000 mm. Der Roboter muss bei der Bearbeitung eine Genauigkeit von +/- 0,1mm erreichen. Weitere Anforderungen an den Bau der Roboterzelle waren die Integration der Werkzeugverwaltung und des Werkzeugwechslers sowie zwei Drehtische zur schnelleren Bearbeitung der Teile. Die gesamte Zelle musste dabei geschlossen sein. Das System kann 8 verschiedene Bauteile aufnehmen (RFID) und verfügt über eine integrierte Absaugung der Späne. Auch die Offline Programmierung wurde im Hause toolcraft übernommen.

Die Herausforderung:
Prozesssicherheit und Genauigkeit

Da die Bauteile im Sichtbereich verbaut sind und Spaltmaße im Zehntel-Bereich erforderlich sind, muss die komplette Anlage eine prozesssichere Genauigkeit nachweisen. Die Vereinigung der Werkzeugverwaltung, Messsysteme und Bauteilerkennung ist die Grundvoraussetzung, um die Anforderung stabil im Bearbeitungsprozess zu gewährleisten. Die kompakte Bauweise bei gleichzeitiger Bedienerfreundlichkeit war eine zusätzliche Herausforderung beim Bau der Zelle. Weiterhin sorgte toolcraft für die robotergerechte Programmierung einer Freiformfläche. Auch das Anpassen und Korrigieren aufgrund des Bauteile-Verzugs ist möglich. Dabei half dem Team von toolcraft seine langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich des Vorrichtungsbaus. Bei der Roboter-Programmierung kam die Partnerschaft mit dem Softwarehaus unicam zum Tragen. Das System wurde im Vorfeld mit Visual Components visualisiert und die Werkzeuge mit Octopuz generiert.

Die Vorgehensweise:
Präzise bis ins kleinste Detail

  • Zusammenstellung eines Projektteams und Erstellung einer Machtbarkeitsanalyse
  • Testphase auf toolcraft eigenen Roboterzellen
  • Komplette Konstruktion und Montage im Haus
  • Einsatz eines Stäubli RX 160
  • Inbetriebnahme beim Kunden

Das Ergebnis:
Von A bis Z eine Komplettlösung nach Maß

Die Lieferzeit inklusive Montage beim Kunden nahm bis zur Serienfreigabe 16 Wochen in Anspruch. Die Roboterzelle erfüllt alle notwendigen Anforderungen. Die toolcraft Kompetenz im Bereich Robotik sowie die sehr gute Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kunden hat die Komplettlösung nach Maß von A bis Z ermöglicht.

Sie haben eine andere Herausforderung für uns? Unser Team freut sich darauf! Nehmen Sie noch heute Kontakt zu uns auf.


Weitere Case Studies

Schopper

Pass(t) genau!

Zur Case Study

Roboterzelle

All-round-Talent nach Maß:
Multifunktionale Roboterzelle für verschiedenste Kundenanforderungen

Zur Case Study