Contact
cross dimensional manufacturing
Pace Maker
for High-End
Precision
Parts

Extremely Sharp

High-quality precision components for Leica's limited digital camera within shortest time

As a leading manufacturer of high-performance digital cameras, Leica Camera AG was looking for a supplier for several housing and internal parts of a limited special edition of its successful Leica M9 model. In a newly interpreted look by Walter de'Silva, head designer of Volkswagen Group. And in high-precision components made of titanium, realised by toolcraft within a very tight time frame.

Used technologies:

customer:

Leica
www.leica-camera.com

the starting point:
Absolute Prestige Product

The special edition was limited to 500 cameras. The five-digit selling price did not tolerate any compromises in quality, function and on-schedule order fulfilment, whatsoever – from prototyping to series production. A typical job for the turning and milling specialists at toolcraft.

the challenge:
Timing and Material

In addition to the customer's specified timing, the precious metal cannot be processed like steel. Moreover, some of the titanium parts – base plate, side handle piece, upper housing and various interior components – also feature a very demanding geometry. In several cases involving miniature threads with very tight tolerances that were hard to machine.

the approach:
Smooth Project Management

  • Building of a qualified project team
  • Project planning for smooth order fulfilment, including determination of the machining centres required for the various parts
  • Prototyping and approvals within shortest time
  • Manufacture and delivery of all 500 units (plus 50 spare parts each) precisely on schedule

the results:
Proven Partnership

Once more toolcraft had been able to demonstrate its competence and experience. In spite of the time pressure, the material and the complexity of the parts, the delivery date was not at risk at any time. In the meantime, we are in discussions about a follow-up project for a new camera system of the customer.

Your Pace makers for high-end Precision Parts

As your research and development partner, we can help you explore new avenues of business and market opportunities. Find out more about cross-dimensional manufacturing, our unique consulting and manufacturing standard Cross-Dimensional Manufacturing!

Challenge us to help you with your projects today!

Send Enquiry

Phone +49 9172 6956-0

Christoph Hauck

Chief Technology Officer / Chief Sales Officer

cross dimensional manufacturing
Pacemaker
für High-End-
Präzisions-
Bauteile

Extrem scharf

Hochwertige Präzisionsteile für die limitierte Leica-Digitalkamera in kürzester Zeit

Als namhafter Hersteller hochleistungsfähiger Digitalkameras suchte die Leica Camera AG nach einem Zulieferer für mehrere Außen- und Innenbauteile eines repräsentativen Sondermodells der erfolgreichen Leica M9. Im Look neu interpretiert von Walter de’Silva, dem Chefdesigner der Volkswagen Gruppe. Mit hochpräzisen Teilen aus Titan, von toolcraft in einem sehr engen Zeitfenster realisiert.

EINGESETZTE Technologien:

Kunde:

Leica
www.leica-camera.de

Die Ausgangslage:
Absolutes Prestigeprodukt

Die Stückzahl war auf 500 Kameras limitiert. Der fünfstellige Verkaufspreis duldete keinerlei Kompromisse in Qualität, Funktionalität und termingetreuer Auftragsabwicklung vom Prototyp bis zur Serienfertigung – eine typische Aufgabe für die Dreh- und Frässpezialisten von toolcraft.

Die Herausforderung:
Termin und Material

Zu den engen Terminvorgaben des Kunden kam hinzu, dass das Edelmetall nicht wie Stahl bearbeitbar ist. Einige der Titanteile – Bodenplatte, seitliches Griffstück, oberes Gehäuse und diverse Innenkomponenten – hatten außerdem eine sehr anspruchsvolle Geometrie. In mehreren Fällen mit sehr eng tolerierten Miniaturgewinden, die schwierig herzustellen waren.

Die Vorgehensweise:
Reibungslose Projektabwicklung

  • Zusammenstellung einer qualifizierten Projektgruppe
  • Projektplanung zur reibungslosen Auftragsabwicklung, einschließlich Festlegung der benötigten Bearbeitungszentren für die diversen Teile
  • Prototypenbau und Abnahme in kürzester Zeit
  • Fertigung und Lieferung der Stückzahl 500 (plus jeweils 50 Ersatzteile) exakt zum vereinbarten Termin

Das Ergebnis:
Bewährte Partnerschaft

Ein weiteres Mal konnte toolcraft seine Kompetenz und Erfahrung im Umsetzen außergewöhnlicher Projekte unter Beweis stellen. Trotz des Zeitdrucks, des Materials und der Komplexität der Teile war der Liefertermin zu keiner Zeit gefährdet. Inzwischen ist ein weiteres Projekt für ein neues Kamerasystem des Kunden aus anderen Materialien im Gespräch.

Ihre Pacemaker für high-end-präzisions-Bauteile

Als Forschungs- und Entwicklungspartner eröffnen wir Ihnen neue Perspektiven und Marktchancen. Lernen Sie unseren branchenweit einzigartigen Beratungs- und Fertigungsstandard Cross Dimensional Manufacturing kennen!

Fordern Sie uns noch heute mit Ihren Projekten heraus! 

Anfragen

Telefon +49 9172 6956-0

Christoph Hauck

Vorstand Technologie und Vertrieb