Case Study: Kinetic Rain

Mobile Installation at Singapore Airport with Floating Drops made by toolcraft

In July 2012, Kinetic Rain was installed at Singapore Changi Airport by MKT AG as the world's largest mobile sculpture. It consists of hundreds of motor-driven floating drops, suspended on thin steel wires and creating different images within a 15-minute choreography. The installation was conceived by artists and programmers of Berlin-based Art+Com AG. toolcraft was asked to develop and manufacture the drops, including material and process selection.

www.mkt-ag.de
www.artcom.de
www.changiairport.com

The Starting Point:
Kinetics in Highgloss

The drops had to be light enough so they will not overload the linear motors - but not too light to prevent them from whirling and banging onto each other in the head space of the hall. Furthermore, a highgloss copper-coloured surface had been specified. This and an ideal weight of approx. 170 g (6 oz.) resulted in the decision to manufacture the drops in aluminium.

The Challenge:
Shape and Cost Control

Due to their shape and specified weight, the drops could not simply be machined out of an aluminium block, but had to be manufactured as twin-shell hollow bodies, including a tight-fitting fine-pitch thread for assembling the shells and an impeccable copper-coloured highgloss coating – all within very ambitious budget limits per piece.

The Approach:
Competent and Efficient

  • Selection of the most suitable materials and processes
  • Design and manufacture of first prototypes
  • Optimisation of copper coating
  • Manufacture of drop by drop in consistent quality
  • One single contact from the first concept through to implementation

The Results:
Representative Total Solution

With the drops for Singapore Changi Airport's world spectacular Kinetic Rain, toolcraft once again demonstrated its core competences in turning and milling. In a comprehensive total solution – from the ideal material and optimised design to precision manufacture, including copper coating.

  • Kinetic Rain
  • Mobile sculpture at airport singapore
  • Drop of Kinetic Rain
  • Kinetic Rain Singapore Airport

You have another challenge for us? Then do not hesitate to contact us, today. Our team is looking forward to new tasks.

Print
Case Study
Customer:

MKT AG
www.mkt-ag.de

Berliner Art+Com AG
www.artcom.de

Singapore Changi Airport
www.changiairport.com


Further Case Studies

Leica M9 Titanium

Extremely Sharp:
High-quality Precision Parts for Leica's Limited M9 Titanium Digital Camera in the Shortest Possible Time

View Case Study

Airbus A350/A400M

Safe Lift-off:
Structural Lightweight Components for Aviation in the Shortest Possible Time

View Case Study

Case Study: Kinetic Rain

Mobile Kunst am Flughafen Singapur mit schwebenden Tropfen made by toolcraft

Kinetic Rain wurde von der MKT AG im Juli 2012 als weltgrößte bewegliche Skulptur in der Abflughalle des Terminal 1 am Changi Airport Singapur installiert. Aus Hunderten motorisch bewegter Tropfen, die aufgehängt an dünnen Stahlseilen in einer 15-minütigen Choreografie unterschiedliche Formen abbilden. Kreiert wurde die Installation von Künstlern und Programmierern der Berliner Art+Com AG. Toolcraft erhielt den Auftrag zur Entwicklung und Fertigung der Tropfen, einschließlich Material- und Verfahrenswahl.

www.mkt-ag.de
www.artcom.de
www.changiairport.com

Die Ausgangslage:
Kinetik in Hochglanz

Die Tropfen durften nicht zu schwer sein, um die Linearmotoren nicht zu überlasten. Aber auch nicht zu leicht, um im Luftraum der Halle nicht zu verwirbeln und aneinander zu schlagen. Desweiteren war eine hochglänzende, kupferfarbene Oberfläche vorgegeben. Dies und ein Idealgewicht von ca. 170 g führten schließlich zur Entscheidung, die Tropfen aus einer Aluminiumlegierung zu fertigen.

Die Herausforderung:
Form und Kostenkontrolle

Aufgrund ihrer Form und des spezifizierten Gewichts ließen sich die Tropfen nicht einfach aus einem Block herausarbeiten, sondern mussten als zweiteilige Hohlkörper hergestellt werden. Mit einem Pass-Feingewinde zum Verschrauben und makelloser kupferfarbenen Hochglanzbeschichtung. Und das in einem sehr ehrgeizigen Kostenrahmen pro Stück.

Die Vorgehensweise:
Kompetent und effizient

  • Wahl des bestgeeigneten Materials und Verfahrens
  • Konstruktion und Fertigung erster Prototypen
  • Optimierung der Kupferbeschichtung
  • Fertigung in konsistenter Qualität – Tropfen für Tropfen
  • Ein einziger Ansprechpartner vom ersten Konzept bis zur Realisierung

Das Ergebnis:
Repräsentative Komplettlösung

Mit den Tropfen für den weltweit Aufsehen erregenden Kinetic Rain im Changi Airport von Singapur hat toolcraft erneut seine Kernkompetenz im Drehen und Fräsen unter Beweis gestellt. In einer umfassenden Komplettlösung, vom bestgeeigneten Material über die optimale Konstruktion bis hin zur Präzisionsfertigung, einschließlich Kupferbeschichtung.

  • Kinetic Rain
  • Kunstwerk am Airport Singapur
  • Tropfen des Kinetic Rains
  • Kinetic Rain Singapur Airport

Sie haben eine andere Herausforderung für uns? Unser Team freut sich darauf! Nehmen Sie noch heute Kontakt zu uns auf.


Weitere Case Studies

Leica M9 Titanium

Extrem scharf:
Hochwertige Präzisionsteile für die limitierte Leica-Digitalkamera in kürzester Zeit

Zur Case Study

A350/A400M

Sicher abheben:
Tragende Leichtbauteile für die Luftfahrtindustrie in kürzester Zeit

Zur Case Study